Start Special Hogwarts Legacy: These are the 4 houses of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft...

Hogwarts Legacy: These are the 4 houses of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

© Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment

After a few postponements, the time has finally come on February 10, 2023. On this date, Hogwarts Legacy, one of the most anticipated action role-playing games of recent years, will be released. The developer is the US development studio Avalanche Software and the publisher is Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment.

The video game transports you to the Harry Potter universe, which originates from the fantasy book series by author J.K. Rowling and has developed into a large franchise over the past few years. In our video game special, we would like to introduce you to the four great houses of Hogwarts School in a little more detail. There is one thing you have to choose at the beginning of the game.

Hogwarts Legacy: These are the four houses of Hogwarts

Hogwarts School is one of the largest and most famous in the world and will also be the main setting in Hogwarts Legacy. Founded over 1000 years ago in an unknown place in Scotland, the most famous and best magicians ever were trained there since. Hogwarts was founded by some of the most famous wizards and witches. These were Godric Gryffindor, Salazar Slytherin, Rowena Ravenclaw, and Helga Hufflepuff. Their surnames became the names of the four houses of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry at the time of its founding.

Since then, the assignment of the pupils is done by the talking hat. It is less about the name and more about certain characteristics of the apprentices.

  • Gryffindor: The Brave
  • Slytherin: The cunning ones, proud of their ancestry
  • Ravenclaw: The smart ones
  • Hufflepuff: The Loyal and Hardworking

The house of Gryffindor – the brave

The House of Gryffindor was founded by Godric Gryffindor and is supposed to be for the especially brave and determined students. The coat of arms of the house is decorated with a lion and the colors chosen are gold and red. In a distant sense, Gryffindor represents the element of fire. Among the most famous members are Albus Dumbledore, the Potter family such as Harry Potter or Ron Weasley and his family, and Neville Longbottom.

Hogwarts Legacy: The Gryffindors‘ Common Room

The House of Slytherin – the cunning ones

Slytherin was founded by Salazar Slytherin, who focused on qualities such as ambition and cunning. Especially the feature of cunning was well captured with the coat of arms, this adorns a snake. In terms of color, it is green and silver and remotely the house represents the element of water. Well-known members besides the founder were among others Severus Snape, Tom Riddle, Bellatrix Lestrange or Draco Malfoy and his family.

Hogwarts Legacy: The Slytherin Common Room

The house Ravenclaw – the smart ones

Ravenclaw was founded by Rowena Ravenclaw, who was considered the smartest of the founding members. True to your preferences, students who are smart, wise and perceptive gather there. The eagle adorns the coat of arms of the house and the colors chosen are blue and bronze. Well-known members were for example Helena Ravenclaw (the daughter of the founder and later house ghost), Myrtle Elizabeth Warren (known as the Howling Myrtle) or Luna Lovegood.

Hogwarts Legacy: The Ravenclaw Common Room

The house of Hufflepuff – the brave

The fourth house is named Hufflepuff and was founded in its time by Helga Hufflepuff. She united values such as loyalty, tolerance or kindness, which can also be transferred to the students of the house. The badger was chosen as the coat of arms, and yellow and black as the colors. Well-known members included magizoologist Newton Artemis Fido Scamander (fantasy film series Fantastic Beasts), herbalism teacher Pomona Sprout, and Cedric Diggory.

Hogwarts Legacy: The Hufflepuffs‘ Common Room